Department of Mathematics

It came into existence in 1968 with B.Sc. programme and with 3 faculty members headed by Prof. Sreedharan Nampiathiri. M.Sc. was started in 1995. Presently, the department has 9 faculty members, including one in Statistics. The sanctioned strength for UG is 48 and for PG is 15. In 1991, Ms. Jyothi Lakshmi P.H. got the first rank and in 1996, Mr. Abhilash K.S. got second rank in the final year B.Sc. examinations. The department is focusing on all-round development of the skills of the students assuring the development of academic skills, personality & social commitment. It aims to create mathematically sensible student community with a scientific turn of mind and offers career counselling to the final year UG and PG students. Mr. K.P. Gopakumar (IT deputy commissioner), Dr. K. X. Joseph (Director, UGC-Academic Staff College, University of Calicut), Dr. George Mathew (Maharajas College, Ernakulam) and two of our own associate professors, Mr. R. Surendranatha Panicker and Mr. N. P. Krishnankutty are some of our alumni.

Programmes offered : 1. B.Sc. Mathematics 2. M.Sc. Mathematics

Faculty Name Qualification E-mail
  Dr. K. Reji Kumar

Assistant Professor (HoD)

M.Sc., M.A., M.Phil., B.Ed., Ph.D..

Dr. Archana V. P.

Assistant Professor

MSc., B, Ed., MPhil ,PhD
  A.G. Vijayakumar

Assistant Professor

Rakhi R.

Assistant Professor

MSc., MPhil, NET
Padma R. S.

Assistant Professor


Department Strategies
>> To conduct seminars/workshops to generate deeper interest in the subject and to develop scientific outlook among students
>> To conduct remedial coaching programme for slow learners
>> To conduct career development programmes, for students
>> To conduct Quiz competitions for the higher secondary level (sponsored by Prof. P. Ambikadevi, Former HOD, Maths)
>> To conduct invited talks by the expert personalities.